​Aluna launches label celebrating Black and queer artists, Noir Fever

today28/02/2024 3

share close

Aluna has unveiled the inaugural release of her brand new record label, Noir Fever Records, celebrating Black dance music.

The label puts the spotlight on Black, female, and LGBTQIA+ artists with a focus on electronic music and the current artists pushing it forward.

The first release on the label landed on Friday, February 23, in the form of an eight-track mixtape from Montréal collective Moonshine, titled ‘Fédération Internationale du Bruit’.

‘Fédération Internationale du Bruit’ – translated to ‘International Federation of Noise’ from French – features a new track from Aluna herself, as well as artists including Sango, Branko, and members of the Moonshine collective.

Read this next: Aluna: “I get asked daily to be exploited by a white DJ

The record spans multiple genres and sounds including amapiano, Jersey club, and badita, entirely rooted in “African club culture and cinema”.

“In 2020 I wrote “that letter” calling out the racial inequalities in the dance music industry and guess what… I didn’t get much of a reply from the industry,” Aluna wrote in an Instagram post over the weekend.

“So I took that as a “be the change” vibe and the concept of Noir Fever was born – a vehicle to champion the freshest Black artists in dance music and tell the stories of how they are pushing the culture forward and reclaiming the future of a genre that we created.”

Read this next: SHERELLE and fynn studio team up for exhibition focused on Black and LGBTQIA+ dance music

In 2022, Aluna launched the first edition of Noir Fever Festival, which featured an all-Black artist line-up including the likes of Kaytranada, TSHA, Channel Tres, Kevin Saunderson, and Jayda G.

Since then, Noir Fever has developed into a “connective network” for artists, according to Aluna. In a 2022 interview with Mixmag, she explained: “I think that Noir Fever can almost be described as a cell network that is intent on sharing stories and connecting people.”

“In its next evolution, Noir Fever is going to be about supporting smaller Black dance communities and elevating them, telling their stories, and then connecting them with other groups.”

Purchase ‘Fédération Internationale du Bruit’ here, and check out the tracklist and artwork below.

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter


  1. Moonshine, Amaal, Aluna, Vanyfox – Pain & Pleasure
  2. Moonshine, Pierre Kwenders, Uproot Andy – Sikoyo (feat. Branko)
  3. Moonshine – Bless You (feat. Banga & Sango)
  4. Moonshine – Banzelo à Babi (feat. Vanyfox & Andy S)
  5. Moonshine, Spilulu, Gafacci – Sakila (feat. Mwamba)
  6. Moonshine – Exclusive
  7. Moonshine – Pilha (feat. Negoo)
  8. Moonshine – Banzelo à Babi (instrumental) (feat. Vanyfox)

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it