​Autechre release 5.5 hour mix in homage to early ‘90s inspiration

today10/01/2023 23

share close

Autechre have released a 330+ minute mix to celebrate the re-release of their 1992 compilation record released via Warp, ‘Artificial Intelligence’.

Celebrating 30 years since its initial release, Autechre have put together a 5.5-hour mix featuring around 100 different artists who individually inspired the duo in the early ‘90s.

Dubbing it a “mix of some of the stuff that was floating around us at the time”, the new release appeared on Mixlr on December 30, just three weeks after the original compilation’s reissue.

Read this next: Decade-old unreleased Autechre and Gescom tracks leaked on YouTube

Eagle-eyed fans plucked apart the mix and made a collaborative spreadsheet running through the tracklist, listing artists including LFO, 808 State, Sade, Nightmares On Wax, and Brian Eno.

The ‘contextual mix’ also features Orbital’s classic cut ‘Belfast’, as well as a handful of tracks from The Scientist and A Guy Called Gerald’s 1989 hit ‘Rhythm of Life’.

On December 9, Warp released the reissue of the 1992 V/A compilation ‘Artificial Intelligence’, featuring Autechre, Aphex Twin under The Dice Man alias, and more for Warp’s Artificial Intelligence series.

Read this next: Autechre were supposed to score Nintendo’s Metroid Prime, says Sean Booth

The nine-track record also featured Richie Hawtin under UP!, Alex Paterson of The Orb, Speedy J, and B12 under Musicology.

“Are you sitting comfortably? First released in 1992, Artificial Intelligence is for long journeys, quiet nights and club drowsy dawns,” Warp announced upon release. “Listen with an open mind.”

Alongside the release, Warp also issued a line of ‘Artificial Intelligence’ merchandise including t-shirts, tote bags, and posters, as well as a physical format release.

Check out the new 330+ minute mix from Autechre here.

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Editorial Assistant, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it