​Blawan returns to XL Recordings with next EP, ‘Dismantled Into Juice’

today19/04/2023 23

share close

Blawan has announced the release of his next record and follow-up to 2021’s ‘Woke Up Right Handed’ EP, due to land on May 17.

Dismantled Into Juice’ marks Blawan’s second venture onto XL Recordings, a five-track release journeying UK techno, experimental club, and vocal-led cuts. The record also marks Blawan’s first solo release in almost two years.

The first single from ‘Dismantled Into Juice’ landed earlier today, ‘Toast’, the lead track set to open the record which is said to be a “taste of what’s to come”.

Read this next: Pariah and Blawan team up to form new alias, Persher

“The first track ‘Toast’ from my new 5 track EP titled ‘Dismantled Into Juice’ is out now on XL Recordings,” Blawan announced on Instagram earlier today. “Can’t wait for you to hear the tracks with vocals from Monstera Black! Soon come x”

The record also includes two vocal tracks featuring rising singer-songwriter Monstera Black, and will step away from Blawan’s previous club-focused records and delve deeper into abstracted sounds.

In late 2022, Blawan linked up with Pariah to form Persher, a new project fusing the pair’s productions. ‘Man With The Magic Soap’, their first release as a duo, landed in October via Thrill Jockey.

Read this next:

“Whilst making the record we tried hard to avoid thinking about how a band, playing in a room, might achieve a certain sound,” they explained. “Instead we used the instruments as source material in an attempt to produce new and interesting sounds that aren’t heard often in this type of music.”

Listen to the lead track from Blawan’s forthcoming record, ‘Toast’, below, check out the tracklist, and pre-order ‘Dismantled Into Juice’ here.


1. ‘Toast’
2. ‘Panic’
3. ‘You Can Build Me’ feat. Monstera Black
4. ‘Body Ramen’
5. ‘Dismantled Into Juice’ feat. Monstera Black

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it