Boofy’s Sector 7 Sounds drops compilation featuring Ikonika, Giant Swan, and more

today21/07/2023 7

share close

Sector 7 Sounds, the record label from Bristol-based DJ and producer Boofy, celebrates 10 years with a brand new compilation record.

‘10/10’ features eight tracks and remixes from label friends over the past decade in the 140 and dubstep realm, including Ikonika, Giant Swan, and EVA808.

“Never really thought about it as there was never any road map but Sector 7 Sounds always progressed with the idea of “music I want to hear in clubs” and the only rule was people who I could invite round my house that would take their shoes off on first instance without me asking,” Boofy explained on Instagram.

Read this next: Black Artist Database launch new label with compilation album ‘Synergy’

“Mans a decade down the line, not as many releases as some of the other labels I respect but still feel quite tight-knit with everyone who trusts the process.”

The double LP showcases sounds spanning the past, present and future of Sector 7 split between new original content from friends and up-and-coming talent, and remixes of classics from the label’s 10-year archive.

Boofy opens the A-side with a brand new track, ‘More Or Less’, followed by tracks from Invader Spade, Leon P, Jook, and Lemzly Dale, who has provided artwork for Sector 7 releases since its inception in 2013.

Read this next: Bill Brewster is mixing the next Late Night Tales compilation

The C and D-sides feature a slew of new reworks, including a remix of Commodo’s ‘Guah’ from Ikonika, an edit of Kahn & Neek’s ‘Random Lab’ by Josi Devil, and more.

“We’re doing something fun for 10 years, and to kick start all good moods off, I just slapped every record still available on our Bandcamp for £7 like its 2013 & every bit of merch is £10. (No end date),” Boofy announced last month.

Check out Sector 7 Sounds’ Bandcamp here, and find the full tracklist for ‘10/10’ below.


A1 – Boofy – More Or Less
A2 – Invader Spade – Midori
B1 – Jook & Lemzly Dale – Beloved
B2 – Leon P – Baile Grime
C1 – Commodo – Guah (Ikonika Remix)
C2 – Drone – No Future (Giant Swan Remix)
D1 – Kahn & Neek – Random Lab (Josi Devil Remix)
D2 – Jook – Gold Rush (EVA808 Diamond Version)

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it