BRIT Awards announces 2023 nominees

today13/01/2023 10

share close

The BRIT Awards has announced this year’s nominees, including an all-male selection for its top award, Artist of the Year.

In 2022, the awards show abandoned gendered categories such as British Female Artist and British Male Artist for the first time, merging the awards together to create the singular Artist of the Year.

Nominees for the 2023 Artist of the Year are Central Cee, Fred again.. [pictured], George Ezra, Harry Styles and Stormzy.

Read this next: How Fred again.. hit the big time by turning his life into a symphony

The Best Hip Hop/Grime/Rap Act also has entirely male nominations, going to Aitch, Central Cee, Dave, Loyle Carner and Stormzy.

The Pop/R&B Act award has also been criticised for a lack of R&B artists.

Harry Styles and Wet Leg are leading with four nominations each, including the Best Album award that also has Fred again..,The 1975 and Stormzy nominated.

The category for Best Dance Act sees Fred again.. nominated once again, alongside Becky Hill, Bonobo, Calvin Harris and Eliza Rose.

Dance music has also made its way into Song of the Year as LF System’s TikTok hit ‘Afraid to Feel’ as well as Eliza Rose and Interplanetary Criminal’s chart-topping ‘B.O.T.A.’.

Read this next: The ‘B.O.T.A’ effect: Why Eliza Rose’s chart-topping club track has captured the nation

The BRIT Awards will take place on February 11 at The O2 Arena, London, hosted by Mo Gilligan.

Check out the full list of nominations below.

Album of the Year
The 1975 ‘Being Funny in a Foreign Language’
Wet Leg ‘Wet Leg’
Harry Styles ‘Harry’s House’
Stormzy ‘This Is What I Mean’
Fred Again ‘Actual Life 3’

Artist of the Year
Central Cee
Fred Again
George Ezra
Harry Styles

Group of the Year
The 1975
Arctic Monkeys
Bad Boy Chiller Crew
Nova Twins
Wet Leg

Best New Artist
Kojey Radical
Mimi Webb
Rina Sawayama
Sam Ryder
Wet Leg

Song of the Year
Aitch and Ashanti ‘Baby’
Cat Burns ‘Go’
Dave ‘Starlight’
Ed Sheeran and Elton John ‘Merry Christmas’
Eliza Rose and Interplanetary Criminal ‘B.O.T.A.’
George Ezra ‘Green Green Grass’
Harry Styles ‘As It Was’
Lewis Capaldi ‘Forget Me’
LF System ‘Afraid to Feel’
Sam Smith and Kim Petras ‘Unholy’

International Artist of the Year
Burna Boy
Kendrick Lamar
Taylor Swift

International Group of the Year
Drake and 21 Savage
First Aid Kit
Fontaines DC

International Song of the Year
Beyoncé ‘Break My Soul’
David Guetta and Bebe Rexha ‘I’m Good’
Fireboy DML and Ed Sheeran ‘Peru’
Carolina Gaitán, Mauro Castillo, Adassa, Rhenzy Feliz, Diane Guerrero and Stephanie Beatriz ‘We Don’t Talk About Bruno’
Jack Harlow ‘First Class’
Lizzo ‘About Damn Time’
Lost Frequencies and Calum Scott ‘Where Are You Now’
OneRepublic ‘I Ain’t Worried’
Taylor Swift ‘Anti-Hero’

Alternative/Rock Act
The 1975
Arctic Monkeys
Nova Twins
Tom Grennan
Wet Leg

Hip-hop, Grime and Rap Act
Central Cee
Loyle Carner

Dance Act
Becky Hill
Calvin Harris
Eliza Rose
Fred Again

Pop/R&B Act
Cat Burns
Charli XCX
Dua Lipa
Sam Smith
Harry Styles

Becky Buckle is Mixmag’s Video and Editorial Assistant, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it