Daft Punk to release unheard music for ‘Random Access Memories’ 10th anniversary reissue

today23/02/2023 8

share close

Daft Punk have revealed that the tenth-anniversary reissue of their last album ‘Random Access Memories’ will include never-heard-before music.

Originally released in 2013 through Columbia Records, this anniversary edition will be out in May — and feature album unreleased demos and outtakes.

Made up of the Parisians Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo, this was the duo’s last album before they announced the official end of Daft Punk with an 8-minute video titled ‘Epilogue’ in February 2021.

Read this next: Daft Punk’s Thomas Bangalter announces solo album

‘Random Access Memories’ won five GRAMMYs and saw the track ‘Get Lucky’ with Pharrell Williams reach number one in the UK charts for four consecutive weeks with it now holding over one billion streams.

Also collaborating with Daft Punk on the album were the likes of Nile Rodgers, Giorgio Moroder, Todd Edwards and Paul Williams.

The “RAM” was recorded over several years using analog equipment rather than digital and now will be now reissued with 35 minutes over unheard audio over nine tracks.

Read this next: Daft Punk music video creator Leiji Matsumoto dies aged 85

Pre-order the tenth anniversary issue of Daft Punk’s ‘Random Access Memories’ here. It will be available across various formats including 3 LPs, 2 CDs and streaming platforms.

1. Give Life Back to Music
2. The Game of Love
3. Giorgio by Moroder
4. Within
5. Instant Crush
6. Lose Yourself To Dance
7. Touch
8. Get Lucky
9. Beyond
10. Motherboard
11. Fragments of Time
12. Doin’ it right
13. Contact
14. Horizon (Japan CD)
15. GLBTM (Studio Outtakes)
16. Infinity Repeating (2013 Demo)
17. GL (Early Take)
18. Prime (2012 Unfinished)
19. LYTD (Vocoder Tests)
20. The Writing of Fragments Of Time
21. Touch (2021 Epilogue)

Becky Buckle is Mixmag’s Video and Editorial Assistant, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it