Erika de Casier announces new album ‘Still’

today15/01/2024 3

share close

Erika de Casier has announced her third studio album, ‘Still’, which is set to land on 4AD next month (February 2).

The Danish R&B artist has also shared the first single from the new record, ‘Lucky’ — along with a ’90s nostalgia-tinged visual for the track directed by Jesse May, titled “me walking on the beach.

Brimming with de Casier’s trademark R&B, garage and house infusions, the artist’s crisp vocals dance above the energetic liquid drum ‘n’ bass beat.

Read more: The Cover Mix: Erika de Casier

Following on from 2021’s ‘Sensational’, ‘Still’ is said to centre around “genuine heartbreak with new clarity” according to a press release.

de Casier shared news of the new album on her Instagram page, along with a tracklist, captioning the post: “Still out February 21st”

Renowned for her skill as a songwriter and vocalist, de Casier has enlisted the likes of Blood Orange, Shygirl and They Hate Change to provide vocals, as she turns her hand at producing for “other voices for the first.”

A number of other collaborators have reportedly contributed to the new record, including Nick León, Carl Emil Johansen, Niels Kirk, Tobias Sachse and more — in efforts to move away somewhat from the introspection of de Casier’s first two records, instead working towards a “conversational” mood between the artist and her features for ‘Still’.

Read more: Fired up: How Erika de Casier grew into an R&B sensation

2023 saw de Casier in the studio with a number of high profile acts, co-writing co-writing several for the K-Pop group New Jeans, including ‘Super Shy’.

The Korean girl group featuring five members—Minji, Hanni, Danielle, Haerin, and Hyein—debuted their first album in 2022 with a sound distinctly inspired by 90s/2000s pop.

‘Still’ is set for the release on February 2, pre-order here and listen to new single ‘Lucky’ and check out the tracklist below.

1. ‘Right This Way’
2. ‘Home Alone’
3. ‘Lucky’
4. ‘The Princess’
5. ‘ice’ ft. They Hate Change
6. ‘Test It’
7. ‘ooh’
8. ‘Believe It’
9. ‘Anxious’
10. ‘Ex-Girlfriend’ ft. Shygirl
11. ‘Toxic’
12. ‘My Day Off’
13. ‘Twice ft. Blood Orange’
14. ‘Someone’

Belle Richardson is Mixmag’s Digital Intern, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it