​Eris Drew launches new vinyl-only label Ecstatic Editions with debut release from Ciel

today28/03/2023 21

share close

Chicago-hailing DJ Eris Drew has unveiled details for her new vinyl-only record label Ecstatic Editions, set to launch in May.

The first release on the label is due to land on May 5 from Toronto’s Ciel with a nine-track anthology record. The double LP will be issued as a vinyl release titled ‘Ciel – Ecstatic Editions Vol. 1’.

Ecstatic Editions is the result of frustration with the vinyl industry, according to Eris Drew, who spent the past two years setting up the label and “quietly working behind the scenes”.

Read this next: Hackney record store Vinyl Pimp is offering customers the chance to stay overnight

“I met Ciel during the Hugo Ball days when she did a mix for us back in 2015,” she explained on Instagram. “Since then, I get sad every time she puts out an amazing track digitally that I can’t play on vinyl.”

“During the pandemic I got the idea to start a label to focus on the amazing work of friends and colleagues, which often does not make it to vinyl these days,” she added.

‘Ciel – Ecstatic Editions Vol. 1’ features five tracks from Ciel herself, as well as a selection of reworks for the likes of Cuushe, Off The Meds, and LAL, and a collaborative track with D. Tiffany under the Psychedelic Budz guise.

Read this next: Eris Drew, Octo Octa and more to play debut festival from Big Dyke Energy

Outside of the release of her new record label, Eris Drew has also announced that Angel D’lite will take over a residency at her Temple of Dreams event series at Corsica Studios.

The quarterly event will bring in the Big Dyke Energy veteran each edition, the first of which is set to kick off this Saturday, April 1, at the South London venue.

Grab your tickets to Temple of Dreams here, check out the tracklist for Ecstatic Edition’s debut release below, and pre-order it here.


A1. Ciel – Galapagos
A2. Ciel – Hope Breaks
B1. Off the Meds – Wena (Ciel Remix)
B2. Ciel – Za Sui
C1. Psychedelic Budz – Deep Space Rubdown
C2. Ciel – Koala Bounces
D1. Ciel – Le Fleuve
D2. LAL – End Of This World Together (Ciel’s Moebius Trip)
D3. Cuushe – Beautiful (Ciel’s Inner Beauty Remix)

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Editorial Assistant, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it