Final album made by Trevino AKA Marcus Intalex set for posthumous release

today14/04/2023 31

share close

‘Back’, the final album Marcus Intalex made under his house and techno moniker Trevino, is set for a posthumous release via his label Birdie.

Scheduled to land on May 26 to mark the sixth anniversary of Marcus’s (real name Marcus Kaye) passing, the album was made as a follow up to his acclaimed 2016 LP ‘Front’.

Most of the tracks were made while he was living in Berlin, with a few coming after he moved back to the UK in early 2017 to make use of his Manchester home studio.

Read this next: Master craftsman: Remembering Marcus Intalex and his exploratory

A legend in the drum ‘n’ bass scene, he created many of the genres most influential tracks, curated many seminal releases on his iconic Soul:r and Revolve:r labels, and performed as one of the genre’s most respected DJs.

In the process he championed a number of key artists in the infant stages of their careers, including DJ Marky, Lynx, High Contrast, Dub Phizix, Chimpo and many more.

But as Trevino – a project he started in 2011 – he was also a highly influential house and techno producer, releasing his debut album ‘21’ in 2011, as well as other records on labels including Martyn’s 3024 and Ben Klock’s Klockworks.

Read this next: New documentary explores the early days of drum ‘n’ bass

Marcus passed away suddenly in May 2017. Read about his enduring legacy here.

In October 2018, the Marcus Intalex Music Foundation was founded to honour the great DJ and “to support and nurture talent in many aspects of music development and its culture”.

‘Back’ will be released digitally and on vinyl as a 2×12” LP. Preview snippets below.

Isaac Muk is Mixmag’s Digital Intern, follow him on Twitter

01. Anxious Dub
02. Gateway
03. Dance Decay
04. Moodswing
05. Arctic
06. Pitch Dark
07. No Response
08. Eve

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it