Four Tet releases live album from Alexandra Palace show

today06/11/2023 3

share close

Four Tet has self-released his live performance at Alexandra Palace from earlier this year.

Out now, the live performance from earlier this year has been broken into six parts on the album and includes crowd recordings.

The two-hour-long performance saw Fout Tet, real name Kieran Hebden, play a range of ambient tracks whilst surrounded by 42,000 hanging lights that reacted to the music.

Read this next: Four Tet is working on first new record in three years

The Squidsoup light installation regularly works with Four Tet on shows with Mixmag naming it in 2019 as “one of the best live shows, if not the best live show we’ve ever seen”.

Songs played by Hebden include his ‘Rounds’, ‘Beautiful Rewind’, ‘New Energy’ and ‘Sixteen Oceans’.

The six parts are named ‘Kool FM’, ‘Spirit Fingers’, ‘My Angel Rocks Back And Forth’, ‘Green’ and ‘Teenage Birdsong’.

Read this next: Four Tet’s old band Fridge to reissue 2003 album ‘Happiness’ to mark 20th anniversary

Four Tet previously self-released his Ally Pally show in 2019 which you can listen to here.

Earlier this year, Four Tet released new track ‘Three Drums’, following his closing set at Coachella alongside Fred again.. and Skrillex.

The eight-minute track is an entirely different vibe from the high-adrenaline festival headline set, and in keeping with the lush soundscapes.

Listen to Four Tet’s new album ‘Live at Alexandra Palace London, 24th May 2023’ below.

Check out images from the show below.

Becky Buckle is Mixmag’s Multimedia Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it