Four Tet’s old band Fridge to reissue 2003 album ‘Happiness’ to mark 20th anniversary

today11/04/2023 26

share close

Fridge, the band Kieran Hebden AKA Four Tet was part of before launching his solo career, are reissuing their fourth album ‘Happiness’ to mark 20 years since its release.

It will be released on May 26 via Temporary Residence Ltd., with Hebden having “restored, reconstructed, and remastered” the album, according to a press statement.

‘Happiness’ was the experimental rock band’s fourth and most successful album. Released in 2003, it took in influence from jazz, folk and hip hop, as well as punk and electronic music.

Read this next: 20 photos that prove Four Tet has the best live show in the world

Fridge was formed in 1996 by Hebden and fellow band member Adem Ilhan (aka Adem) and Sam Jeffers. After the release of ‘Happiness’ and Hebden’s subsequent focus on his Four Tet project, the band took a backseat and went on hiatus. Their final album ‘The Sun’ came after reforming in 2007.

Last month, Everything But The Girl (real names Ben Watt and Tracey Thorn) released a remix of their recent single ‘Nothing Left to Lose’ by Four Tet, turning the track from their upcoming album into a dreamy dancefloor banger.

Read this next: Four Tet, Fred again.. and Skrillex take over Times Square with surprise B3B

Commenting at the time, the duo said: “We’ve always loved that meditative but propulsive thing in Kieran’s music. The restraint mixed in with the momentum.

“It is something that we often explore as well, so asking him to rework one of our songs felt like a great fit,” they continued.

Pre-order ‘Happiness (Anniversary Edition)’ here.


01 ‘Melodica & Trombone’ (Remastered)

02 ‘Drum Machines & Glockenspiel’ (Remastered)

03 ‘Cut Up Piano & Xylophone’ (Remastered)

04 ‘Tone Guitar & Drum Noise’ (Remastered)

05 ‘Five Four Child Voice’ (Remastered)

06 ‘Sample & Clicks’ (Remastered)

07 ‘Drums Bass Sonics & Edits’ (Remastered)

08 ‘Harmonics’ (Remastered)

09 ‘Long Singing’ (Remastered)

10 ‘Five Combs’ (Remastered) (Bonus Track)

Isaac Muk is Mixmag’s Digital Intern, follow him on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it