​Gesaffelstein announces third studio album, ‘GAMMA’

today16/02/2024 4

share close

Gesaffelstein has unveiled details of his third studio album, ‘GAMMA’, due to land next month via Sony Music.

It marks the French producer’s first record in more than five years following 2019’s ‘Hyperion’, which went on to reach number 10 in the US dance charts.

The record lands on March 29 featuring 11 brand new tracks, harking back to the producer’s “raw industrial sound” with a surrealist approach to hard dance music.

Read this next: Gesaffelstein: Everything you need to know about the enigmatic producer

A two-minute trailer for the new record directed by Post Malone and FKA Twigs collaborator Jordan Hemingway is out now. Watch it below.

Last year, Skrillex shared several photos on Instagram alongside Gesaffelstein, aka Mike Lévy, in France. One of the pictures showed a snippet of Gesaffelstein’s laptop with production software open.

Skrillex later tweeted: “Gesaffelstein’s just played us his new album my gaaawd”. It was the first teaser for the new album and led to speculation of a collaboration between the pair.

Last month, Coachella revealed that Gesaffelstein will return to the stage for the first time since 2019 at its next edition this coming April. His last performance at the LA festival has also been released in full following the announcement.

Read this next: What is Coachella?

On his last full-length release, Gesaffelstein collaborated with the likes of Pharrell Williams, Terrace Martin, and The Weeknd. His collaborative track The Weeknd dominated charts across the world, went double platinum in the US, and accumulated over a billion combined streams worldwide.

Check out the tracklist for ‘GAMMA’ below, and pre-order the record here.

‘GAMMA’ Tracklist:

1. Digital slaves
2. Hard dreams
3. Your share of the night
4. Hysteria
5. The urge
6. Mania
7. Lost love
8. The perfect
9. Psycho
10. Tyranny
11. Emet

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it