I. JORDAN announces debut album ‘I AM JORDAN’

today09/02/2024 2

share close

I.JORDAN has revealed their debut album ‘I AM JORDAN’, which is set for release in May.

The UK dance music DJ and producer has released the single ‘Real Hot n Naughty’ with Scouse rapper Felix Mufti.

“This album is about joy”, Jordan says. “It’s about my joy as a trans person, and trans joy generally, working with trans people, making all this fun music together.”

The project is said to act as a “personal dance music diary” with tributes to the Northern music scene which celebrates the sounds of donk, trance, house and hardstyle and will also include features from TAAHLIAH and Sister Zo.

Read this next: SHERELLE and I. JORDAN in conversation

‘Real Hot n Naughty’ is the first taste of what is to come with the album and is out alongside a music video.

Vocals on the track are by Sex Education star and performer Felix Mufti who has danced for Jordan’s sets at Glastonbury and Homoblow.

“A large part of the reason why Felix and I instantly bonded is because of our queer working-class backgrounds, and our pride around that as well”, Jordan explains.

“Our aim with this track is to make a real queer northern dance anthem. A lot of working-class, northern humour is ‘things are a bit shit, but whatever. We’ll take the piss”.

Felix adds: “This celebration of our unhinged family is my proudest project to date. Told through a working-class lens that has defined so much of me and Jordan as artists, I couldn’t be happier to finally share this story with the world”.

Read this next: I. JORDAN in The Lab LDN

After a decade of experience Jordan has worked with the likes of Fred Again.., Planningtorock, Fever Ray, Romy and Eliza Rose.

Last year, Jordan worked closely with SHERELLE on a joint EP as well as embarked on a UK and European tour.

‘Real Hot n Naughty’ is out now and ‘I AM JORDAN’ will be out May 10 via Ninja Tune.

1. ‘When Lights Flash’
2. ‘Casino High’
3. ‘Real Hot n Naughty’ (ft. Felix Mufti)
4. ‘The Countdown’ (ft. TAAHLIAH)
5. ‘Butterlick’ (ft. Sister Zo)
6. ‘Reification and Pathetic Fallacy’
7. ‘People Want Nice Things’
8. ‘Round n Round’
9. ‘The Woodpecker’
10. ‘7 Degrees of Despondent’
11. ‘Close To You’
12. ‘Rapt Finis’

Becky Buckle is Mixmag’s Multimedia Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it