James Blake announces new album, and single ‘Big Hammer’

today28/06/2023 14

share close

James Blake has the debut track to his upcoming album, ‘Playing Robots Into Heaven’.

The new track ‘Big Hammer’ comes along with news of a headline tour including one night at London’s Alexandra Palace.

Blake’s ‘Big Hammer’ explores more of his dance music background and marks his first solo work since his 2021 album ‘Friends That Break Your Heart’.

Read this next: James Blake: “People couldn’t care less if you’re mysterious now”

His European and North American tour kicks off just ten days after the album’s release in Milan before he travels to other cities such as, Paris, London, Montreal, Los Angeles and more.

The single from the Mercury Music Prize and GRAMMY award-winning artist is out now with an accompanying music video directed by Oscar Hudson who has previously worked with the likes of Radiohead to Bonobo.

The music video follows a group of people go on a joy-ride stealing from multiple shops.

Read this next: James Blake says he wants to “make plenty more music” with Dave

‘Friends That Break Your Heart’ is out on September 8 via Polydor/Republic Records.

Check out the music video to James Blake’s ‘Big Hammer’ below. Get tickets to see James Blake here.

Read the full tracklist to ‘Friends That Break Your Heart’ below.

1. Asking to Break
2. Loading
3. Tell Me
4. Fall Back
5. He’s Been Wonderful
6. Big Hammer
7. I Want You to Know
8. Night Sky
9. Fire the Editor
10. If You Can Hear Me
11. Playing Robots Into Heaven

Becky Buckle is Mixmag’s Multimedia Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it