​Justice and Miguel link up on brand new single, ‘Saturnine’

today22/03/2024 1

share close

Justice have linked up with R&B legend Miguel on a brand new single, ‘Saturnine’, due to appear on their forthcoming album ‘Hyperdrama’ next month.

The latest release from the duo – aka Xavier and Gaspard – follows a string of tracks in the lead-up to their first album in seven years, which is set to land on April 26 via Ed Banger Records.

Speaking on the new single, Miguel said: “[I’ve] been friends with Xavier and Gaspard for some years now so to finally work together and get a great song has been the best experience.”

“Merging our sounds felt effortless,” he said. The track utilises an E-MU synth guitar sound, which the duo played around with to create the main riff.

Read this next: Justice announced as headliners for Field Day 2024

Justice added that the rest “came quickly”. “We don’t think we’ve ever made anything that sounds remotely like this track before,” they said.

“We love Miguel’s voice when it’s raw. We wanted him to sound outrageously frontal, with no space around his voice. We felt confident we could make this work with a single mono take of his voice, and minimal processing.”

Justice also explained that the single is themed around Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, with a “sweaty, hallucinatory flow”.

Read this next: Justice share third single from upcoming album, ‘Incognito’

‘Saturnine’ is the fourth single to land from the 13-track album so far. Other tracks include ‘Incognito’, ‘Generator’, and the Tame Impala-featuring single ‘One Night/All Night’.

Justice’s upcoming tour includes dates in Portugal, Italy, France, Mexico, New York, and more, with headline shows at Barcelona’s Primavera Sound, London’s Field Day, and Los Angeles’ Coachella.

Pre-order ‘Hyperdrama’ here, and check out the tracklist and artwork below.


1. ‘Neverender’ (ft. Tame Impala)
2. ‘Generator’
3. ‘Afterimage’ (ft. RIMON)
4. ‘One Night/All Night’ (ft. Tame Impala)
5. ‘Dear Alan’
6. ‘Incognito’ (ft. The Flints)
7. ‘Mannequin Love’
8. ‘Moonlight Rendez-Vous’ (ft. Connan Mockasin)
9. ‘Explorer’
10. ‘Muscle Memory’
11. ‘Harpy Dream’
12. ‘Saturnine’ (ft. Miguel)
13. ‘The End’ (ft. Thundercat)

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it