Kelela announces sophomore album ‘RAVEN’ via Warp Records

today16/11/2022 7

share close

Kelela has announced details of her new album, ‘RAVEN’ which will be released via Warp Records.

Released February 10 2023, the LP will be the US artist’s first in nearly six years, and will feature 15 songs.

All of the songs on the album are written and arranged by Kelela, and the main producers are Yo Van Lenz and Florian T M Zeisig – who also make up ambient duo OCA – as well as LSDXOXO.

Read this next: Warp 30: “Every time there’s an anniversary, we subvert the idea of patting ourselves on the back”

The LP explores Kelela’s place and identity within the music industry. Speaking about the project, she said: “I started this process from the feeling of isolation and alienation I’ve always had as a Black femme in dance music, despite its Black origins.

“‘RAVEN’ is my first breath taken in the dark,” she continued. “An affirmation of Black femme perspective in the midst of systemic erasure and the sound of our vulnerability turned to power.”

Alongside the announcement, she has released a new single ‘On The Run’, which features production from Yo Van Lenz, Bambii, Kaytranada and Kelela herself. The track features her distinctive R&B sound and vocals, sprinkled with elements of ambient and hip hop.

Read this next: Listen to an ambient-heavy new mix from Kelela

Last month Kelela released ‘Happy Ending’ – a ravey, breakbeat influenced song produced by LSDXOXO and Bambii.

RAVEN’ will be Kelela’s second full studio album, after her debut ‘Take Me Apart’ was released in 2017. A remix album was released in 2018, with producers such as Kaytranada and Serpentwithfeet on production duties, as well as featuring vocal appearances from Princess Nokia, Junglepussy, CupcakKe and Ms. Boogie on the remixed version of ‘LMK (What’s Really Good’).

Take a listen to On The Run below:

Full tracklist of ‘RAVEN’:

1. Washed Away

2. Happy Ending

3. Let It Go

4. On the Run

5. Missed Call

6. Closure

7. Contact

8. Fooley

9. Holier

10. Raven

11. Bruises

12. Sorbet

13. Divorce

14. Enough for Love

15. Far Away

Check out Mixmag’s cover feature with Kelela in 2019 here

Isaac Muk is Mixmag’s Digital Intern, follow him on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it