Kelela enlists Yaeji, DJ Swisha, Shygirl, and more on new remix album

today07/12/2023 8

share close

Kelela has revealed details of her forthcoming remix package due to land next spring, ‘RAVE:N, The Remixes’.

The record reworks tracks from Kelela’s second studio record, the critically acclaimed ‘Raven’, which landed on February 10, 2023, via Warp Records.

The US singer-songwriter has enlisted the likes of Yaeji, DJ Swisha, Karen Nyame KG, LSDXOXO, DJ Manny, TAYHANA, and Loraine James to take on the reworks.

The record, which is due to land a year on from the release of ‘Raven’ on February 9, 2024, also includes a number of new features from famed singers and rappers.

Read this next: “Unmistakably Black”: Kelela is a liaison between the worlds within dance music

TYGAPAW’s remix of the record’s title track, ‘Raven’, is set to feature Toronto-based singer Rochelle Jordan, while a rework of ‘Holier’ from JD. REID will include a guest feature from UK chart-topper Shygirl. Other features include Bbymutha, ThugPop, and Ms. Carrie Stacks.

To mark the announcement of the remix package, the record’s lead single, ‘Closure’, remixed by Flexulant and BAMBII featuring Rahrah Gabor and Brazy, is out now. Check it out below.

‘Raven’, the second studio record from Kelela, celebrates Black and queer artists with a focus on club-centred sounds, mostly produced in Berlin with collaborators including German duo OCA, Maroof, LSDXOXO and BAMBII.

Read this next: Yaeji unveils debut album coming this April, ‘With A Hammer’

Speaking to Mixmag after the record’s release in February, Kelela explained: “There is no range of sounds I could write or offer that group of people, for the most part, that would not be received and understood.”

“You might press play on track four because you fuck with that track,” she said. “But it’s going seamlessly into track five and over time you start liking drum ‘n’ bass. This is a gateway for getting into new shit. Or something you didn’t see the relationship [between] before.”

Check out the full tracklist for ‘RAVE:N, The Remixes’ below, and check out the artwork, designed by Yasser Abubeker.


1. Raven (Agazero Remix feat. Bbymutha)
2. Contact (Karen Nyame KG Remix)
3. Closure (Flexulant x BAMBII Remix feat. Rahrah Gabor + Brazy)
4. Holier (JD. REID Remix feat. Shygirl)
5. Bruises (SUCIA! Remix)
6. Washed Away (Ethereal Remix feat. Liv.e)
7. Far Away (DJ Swisha Remix)
8. Raven (TYGAPAW Remix feat. Rochelle Jordan)
9. Sorbet (LSDXOXO Remix)
10. Divorce (DJ Manny Remix)
11. Fooley (LEECH Ambient Queen Remix)
12. Missed Call (KYRUH Remix)
13. Happy Ending (A.G Remix)
14. Let It Go (NGUZUNGUZU x DJ GAY-Z Remix)
15. On The Run (River Moon Remix feat. ThugPop)
16. Enough For Love (TAYHANA Remix)
17. Enough For Love (Yaeji heart+beat Remix)
18. Divorce (Loraine James Remix)
19. Far Away (DJ LHC Remix)
20. Far Away (SUUTOO His Eye Is On the Raven Remix feat. Ms. Carrie Stacks)

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it