Mind Against launch label Habitat, share VA compilation

today25/06/2023 11

share close

Mind Against have launched their new imprint, Habitat.

The announcement landed earlier this month [June], accompanied by lead single ‘Criseide’ by the duo and Sideral, however have these week cemented the label’s launch by sharing 15-track V/A compilation ‘METAFLORA’.

Available both digitally and as a 3LP deluxe vinyl box set, the record features new cuts from the labelheads, but also Dyzen, Sam Shure, Read the News, Aether and more. All artists features are new, and hold relationships with the Mind Against duo.

Read this next: Mind Against are the latest to join the ‘fabric presents’ mix series

“Habitat is a platform built on the belief that music has the power to transcend boundaries, unite people, and transform the world. We also believe that technology democratises access to art and unlocks endless possibilities for creating new experiences,” the pair explain. “By embracing and nurturing innovation and creativity, and exploring the boundless potential at the intersection of music, art and technology, we hope to create a lasting impact that transcends conventional limitations.”

Launched alongside the imprint was a video to explain its concept more in depth, created by Aujik – aka award-winning Swedish-born, Japan-based artist Stefan Larsson. Dystopian in its nature – almost robotic with its inclusion of flora – it attempts to embody the collision of art and technology at the core of the label’s purpose. Watch the full video here.

Read this next: Harder, better, faster, stronger: has dance music got harder and faster?

‘METAFLORA’ V/A from Mind Against’s Habitat is available now, check it out here.

Niamh Ingram is Mixmag’s Weekend Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it