Mount Kimbie announce new album ‘The Sunset Violent’

today09/02/2024 3

share close

Mount Kimbie have announced their fourth studio album, ‘The Sunset Violent’.

The duo, aka Dominic Maker and Kai Campos, revealed the news of new record alongside new single ‘Fishbrain’.

This forthcoming album will be Mount Kimbie’s first full-length album in seven years, after their 2017 release ‘Love What Survives’.

Read this next: Dual perspective: Mount Kimbie’s new album is a unique insight into the duo’s artistic connection

In 2022, the pair released the double album ‘MK 3.5: Die Cuts | City Planning’ which saw Maker and Campos work on separate albums individually under the name of Mount Kimbie.

However, for ‘The Sunset Violet’ Mount Kimbie have returned to working with each other as well as with bandmembers Andrea Balency-Béarn and Marc Pell.

The album will also see the return of longstanding Mount Kimbie collaborator, vocalist King Krule on tracks ‘Empty And Silent’ and the already released song ‘Boxing’.

Read this next: Mount Kimbie art installation swept away by Storm Claudio in Central London

Written whilst out in California’s Yucca Valley, ‘The Sunset Violent’ was inspired by the area’s history of alleged UFO sightings and desert landscape adding to the abstract narratives within the album – including the concept behind ‘Fishbrain’.

As a band, Mount Kimbie have also announced a world tour this year performing live across major cities such as Berlin, Paris, London, Los Angeles and more. Get tickets here.

‘Fishbrain’ is out now with an accompanying video directed by Tegen Williams. Watch the music video below.

1. ‘The Trail’
2. ‘Dumb Guitar’
3. ‘Shipwreck’
4. ‘Boxing’ (Feat. King Krule)
5. ‘Got Me’
6. ‘A Figure In The Surf’
7. ‘Fishbrain’
8. ‘Yukka Tree’
9. ‘Empty And Silent’ (Feat. King Krule)

‘The Sunset Violent’ will be out on April 5 via Warp. Pre-order it here.

Becky Buckle is Mixmag’s Multimedia Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it