RP Boo announces follow up to iconic debut album 10 years later

today17/03/2023 12

share close

Footwork pioneer RP Boo has announced a follow up LP to his iconic debut album ‘Legacy’, 10 years after it was first released in 2013.

‘Legacy Volume 2’ will be released on µ-Ziq’s Planet Mu, coming out on May 12.

His debut album is widely considered one of the most definitive records from the golden age of footwork in the early 2010s, with its fast-paced, hectic syncopation and sampling.

The Chicago native has been releasing music since the ‘90s, with his early tracks being key in developing the sound signature that would come to define the genre of footwork.

Read this next: RP Boo and SHERELLE discuss the power of footwork

He first started getting into the music industry through DJing alongside the House-O-Matics crew, including DJ Deeon and DJ Milton, before being taught how to produce his own music by juke legend DJ Slugo, as well as being a contemporary of DJ Rashad and DJ Spinn.

Recalling the early days of the scene, RP Boo said in a statement: “The Footwork scene was very scattered around. (There were) very few places to see Footworkers showcase their moves.

“Then around 2005, things started to change when the War Zone created by Wala (Jerome Williams) on the West Side of Chicago gave a platform for the dancers to come and do what they do best,” he continued.

“Then, Battle Grounds surfaced on the South Side of Chicago where you would hear the future of footwork tracks being played by DJ Rashad & DJ Spinn.”

Read this next: Chicago footwork legacy: DJ Clent, DJ Corey and DJ Noir in conversation

Commenting on the album’s announcement, RP Boo said: “What inspires me to keep going is seeing people have an awesome time moving on the dance floor.

“As well as playing music that is a recognisable part of my life,” he continued. “I’m one with it.”

‘Legacy Volume 2’ will be will be his fifth studio album on Planet Mu, following ‘Fingers, Bank Pads & Shoe Prints’ from 2015 and 2018’s ‘I’ll Tell You What!’, 2021’s ‘Established!’ and ‘Legacy’.

Listen to ‘B.O.T.O.’, the lead single from ‘Legacy Volume 2’ below.


01. Eraser

02. Heavy Heat

03. Total Darkness

04. Flo Control

05. Under D-Star

06. Say Grace

07. Knockout

08. Azzoutof Control

09. B.O.T.O.

10. Pop Machine

11. Porno

12. Off Da Hook

13. Last Night

Isaac Muk is Mixmag’s Digital Intern, follow him on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it