Shaun Ryder features on new posthumous release from Lee “Scratch” Perry

today22/01/2024 6

share close

A joint release between Happy Mondays’ Shaun Ryder and the late dub innovator Lee “Scratch” Perry has just landed on False idols, ‘Green Banana’.

The single was recorded before Perry’s death in 2021 and features on ‘King Perry’, the posthumous album from the reggae legend — which also features collaborations with Greentea Peng and Tricky.

‘Green Banana’ is the first single to appear from the album, released today via Tricky’s False Idols label. It also comes side-by-side with a remix from Bristol duo Dubkasm.

‘King Perry’, lands on February 2, and will be Lee “Scratch” Perry’s final ever release.

Read this next: Watch a documentary on the late, great Lee “Scratch” Perry

King Perry’ was entirely written, produced, and recorded alongside GRAMMY-nominated producer Daniel Boyle before his passing in August 2021, following on from 2023’s ‘Heaven’.

The record will entail “something new, something different but still with a dub framework”, according to Perry’s wishes of the final release, and includes a closing track, titled ‘Goodbye’, Perry’s last ever recorded vocal performance.

‘King Perry’’s co-producer Boyle says influences span synthwave, big beat, drum ‘n’ bass and electronica, with a masterful touch of dub from the pioneering artist.

Read this next: Aitch says Shaun Ryder agreed to be in music video for “four cans of Guinness”

Other tracks on the record include features from Tricky, Greentea Peng, Fifi Rong, Marta and Rose Waite across 12 new and unheard tracks.

In 2022, a documentary celebrating the late dub icon was released via the Criterion Channel, The Upsetter: The Life & Music of Lee “Scratch” Perry. In addition to archival footage, the documentary included interviews and discusses the life and musical legacy of Perry.

Check out the artwork and tracklist for ‘King Perry’ below, and listen to ‘Green Banana’ featuring Shaun Ryder here.

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter


01. Lee Scratch Perry and Greentea Peng ‘100lbs of Summer’
02. Lee Scratch Perry ‘Evil Generation’
03. Lee Scratch Perry ft. Fifi Rong ‘Midnight Blues’
04. Lee Scratch Perry ‘King of the Animals’
05. Lee Scratch Perry and Shaun Ryder ‘Green Banana’
06. Lee Scratch Perry ‘Jesus Life’
07. Lee Scratch Perry ft. Marta ‘King of the Animals’
08. Lee Scratch Perry ‘No Illusion’
09. Lee Scratch Perry ft. Rose Waite ‘The Person I Am’
10. Lee Scratch Perry ft. Greentea Peng ‘Jah People in Blue Sky’
11. Lee Scratch Perry ft. Tricky and Marta ‘Future of My Music’
12. Lee Scratch Perry ‘Goodbye’

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it