Squarepusher announces first album in four years, ‘Dostrotime’

today31/01/2024 2

share close

Squarepusher has announced the release of his first record in more than four years, due to land this March in the shape of a 12-track studio album.

‘Dostrotime’ heads onto Warp Records on March 1, 2024, and will be available as a double LP, CD, and digital release.

The first single from the record, ‘Wendorlan’, is out now alongside a brand new visual. The video was recorded on a CRT oscilloscope by Squarepusher himself, all within one take.

Read this next: Paranoid London announce new album, ‘Arseholes, Liars, and Electronic Pioneers’

Speaking on the visual – which comes with a strobe warning – the producer explains how it was filmed using the oscilloscope and “custom processing to generate the XY signal from components of track audio and control data”. Check it out below.

‘Dostrotime’ marks Squarepusher’s first record in over four years following ‘Be Up a Hello’, which peaked at number 77 in the UK charts on release in January 2020. Since then, the Warp-signed producer has released a handful of remixes for the likes of Deftones, GoGo Penguin, and Danny Elfman.

Read this next: Justice share first two singles from upcoming album ‘Hyperdrama’

Speaking on the forthcoming album (via The Quietus), Squarepusher explains: “For me, the lockdown of 2020 will always stand out as a remarkable time partly for the viscerality of its terrors, but also because of its novel, eerie, sublime silence.”

“It afforded me (and no doubt other fortunate loners) a respite from the incessant distractions that can get in the way of important things such as doing nothing – or recording music,” he says.

Pre-order ‘Dostrotime’ here, and check out the tracklist below.

‘Dostrotime’ tracklist:

1. Arkteon 1
2. Enbounce
3. Wendorlan
4. Duneray
5. Kronmec
6. Arkteon 2
7. Holorform
8. Akkranen
9. Stromcor
10. Domelash
11. Heliobat
12. Arkteon 3

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it