​Youth Music Awards announces 2023 winners at London ceremony

today19/10/2023 5

share close

This year’s Youth Music Awards ceremony, took place last night, October 18, at London’s Troxy.

Twleve awards were handed out, with musicians, creatives, organisers and musical organisations crowned winners among categories including Young Leader Award, Live Performance Award, and Social Action Award.

Read this next: Here are all the nominees for the Youth Music Awards 2023

Winners this year included neo-jazz artist Ni Maxine who was presented with the Original Track Award (Solo), and conscious rapper TL, who was given the Lyricist Award.

Other winners this year included Owain Elidir Williams, who produced the “first and only” bilingual music publication in Wales, and Elizabeth J. Birch, a singer-songwriter and role model for young disabled musicians.

Youth Music Awards 2023 enlisted a panel of judges from across the music industry, including Hot Chip, Joy Crookes, Chicken Shop Date host Amelia Dimoldenberg and Mixmag‘s Deputy Editor, Megan Townsend, to select the winners, with many in attendance on the night, as well as a special video message from FLO for FORM, winners of the Original Track Award (Group).

Awards were presented by the likes of world-conquering electronic music duo Bicep, chart-topping popstar MNEK, BBC Radio 1 presenter Clara Amfo, and musician & creative director Kojey Radical.

There were show-stopping performances across the evening, from the likes of ALT BLK ERA, Richard Carter, Priya Ragu, Treeboy & Arc, Kindelan, Qazi & Qazi, Kennedy Taylor and EVA (pictured), who took home three awards on the night.

The Brighton-based musician EVA said: “[Youth Music] took me in when I was 18 and I didn’t have any music out. It’s all about supporting and showcasing undiscovered and emerging talent, which is just so important.”

Presenter Clara Amfo said on this year’s ceremony: “As we all know we can’t help the circumstances we are born into, so it’s all about levelling the playing field.

“There are very important people in this room that have made a huge difference, so let’s keep supporting grassroots music to give everyone the same chance.”

Amelia Dimoldenberg said: “It feels amazing to be here tonight to support young creatives and young musicians. It was an honour to be a part of the judging panel – I really loved sharing the expertise I have, and hope that it will be beneficial to the career paths of these future stars.”

Youth Music CEO, Matt Griffiths, said: “The Youth Music Awards provides a platform for the incredibly talented next generation of creatives and leaders emerging from the grassroots organisations we invest in across the country. The event really demonstrates the importance of supporting grassroots music. Without it, the future of music is less diverse, inclusive, and creative. ”

Read this next: 10% of grassroots music venues will close by the end of 2023, say Music Venue Trust

Find the full list of winners at Youth Music Awards 2023 below.

Young Leader Award sponsored by Clintons. Winner: David Coke, Heart n Soul
Music Producer Award sponsored by Amazon Music and presented by BICEP. Winner: James Jones – Coconut Beach
Inspirational Music Leader Award sponsored by the Musicians’ Union. Winner: Elizabeth J. Birch, MAC Birmingham
Live Performance Award sponsored by Ticketmaster. Winner: EVA
Music Video Award sponsored by YouTube. Winner: EVA – My One
Original Track Award (Solo) sponsored by Levi’s and presented by Clara Amfo. Winner: Ni Maxine – Strange Love
Original Track Award (Group) sponsored by Marshall Amplification and presented by MNEK. Winner: FORM – Confused
Rising Star Award (Artist) sponsored by Dr. Martens. Winner: EVA
Rising Star Award (Industry) sponsored by Songkick. Winner: Owain Elidir Williams
Outstanding Project Award sponsored by TikTok. Winner: AutismAble CIC, Future Collaborations
Lyricist Award sponsored by PRS For Music and presented by Kojey Radical. Winner: TL – Time Will Tell
Social Action Award sponsored by Hal Leonard Europe. Winner: Pan Intercultural Arts, Amies Freedom Choir

Gemma Ross is Mixmag’s Assistant Editor, follow her on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it